Parchi del Ducato
Ente di Gestione per i Parchi e la Biodiversità Emilia Occidentale

Protected Areas

The Natural Protected Areas of Western Emilia, the "Parchi del Ducato" (Parks of the Duchy) are an extraordinary and varied mosaic of habitats, landscapes, cultures and histories; from the plain, to the average hill, up to the mountains, in the provinces of Parma and Piacenza.
Agricultural landscapes, small villages, rare and precious animal species, river environments, woods and forests, are the constituent elements of this environment system, in which the presence of man is, to a different extent, a richness and a value and not just a threat.
In this complex tissue are enshrined/put/ the specificities of the single Natural Protected Areas, (well) they consist in five regional Parks (Boschi di Carrega, Cento Laghi, Stirone e Piacenziano, Fluviale del Taro, Fluviale del Trebbia), and four Reserves (Torrile and Trecasali, dei Ghirardi, Monte Prinzera, Parma Morta).